Stuff

STUFF

Stuff.

Stuff.

Stuff everywhere! So much stuff.

As I walk through my house this morning, that’s what I see. Every nook, cranny, cubby, shelf, closet, and cupboard crammed with stuff. On a somewhat irregular basis, out of guilt and frustration I purge some of it. I donate to charities, give away to friends and family, and trash the rest. But ultimately all I’ve done is make more room to add some more stuff and the cycle begins again.

images

My old Random House College Dictionary lists one definition of stuff as, “worthless things or matter.” That just about covers it.

Why do I need so much stuff? I don’t.

Why do I want so much stuff? Apparently my dictionary is providing therapy or at the least some powerful insight because another meaning of stuff is, “to fill the preserved skin of a dead animal with material, retaining its natural form and appearance for display.”

Hmmm. So am I stuffing me with all this material just so I can give a certain appearance for display? Ouch, that hurts – not to mention the implications of being the preserved skin of a dead animal!

 9 However, you are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you. But if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Him. 10 If Christ is in you, though the body is dead because of sin, yet the spirit is alive because of righteousness. 11 But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you. 12 So then, brethren, we are under obligation, not to the flesh, to live according to the flesh – 13 for if you are living according to the flesh, you must die; but if by the Spirit you are putting to death the deeds of the body, you will live. (Romans 8, NAS)

The Word reminds me that my flesh is dead as a result of sin but because the Spirit of God lives within me I no longer have to be a slave to these worldly seductions. By the leading and prompting of the Holy Spirit I am to put to death these desires. Notice verse 13 says, “you are putting to death,” which implies an ongoing, continuous action. How I wish it was just a one-time thing. OK, done with that, no more worldly temptations, no more fleshly desires rising up within me! I’ve put them to death now and forever.

No, as long as I am in this world, the temptations will face me. The challenges will arise. The allure of “stuff” will taunt me. Yet there is hope, there is always hope in Christ.

“But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us.” (Romans 8:37)

All means all! There is no temptation, no lure, no thing that cannot be overcome through Christ. He is our weapon, our strong tower, our fortress and our shield in conquering ALL these things. Instead of trying to stuff myself with material goods, instead of concerning myself with appearances and seeking the temporary pleasure associated with these things, rather than trying to create an artificial sense of peace and contentment; I simply need to focus on allowing the Spirit to completely fill my heart.

More of Him, less of me.

“Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13

More of HIM, less of me.

“Set your mind on the things above, not on the things that are on earth. For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God.”  Colossians 3:2

MORE of HIM,           less                        of                          me.

In His grace,

*Note from Mimi – This article was written more than a year ago and  tucked away to to be used at some point in the future. Recently I’ve had several discussions with women that are facing too much “stuff” in their lives. The time is right to claim our freedom.

5 thoughts on “Stuff

Leave a Reply

