Even This?

Mondays are frequently dreaded, especially by those facing the prospect of another day on a job less that desirable. My Mondays are eagerly anticipated because for me, it is another day of “retirement.” Mondays are no less busy but certainly more self-directed and filled with activities of my choosing, not necessarily dictated by a professional agenda. So, my morning scripture writing really was an eye-opener as I thought about women returning to their jobs (or perhaps just clocking out from their night shift), moms trying to juggle everything for the last minute mad dash or the stay a home mom facing another week of chores and to-do’s that never seem to all get completed.

iStock_000010562074_Medium

Colossians 3:22 – 25 states, “Slaves, obey your earthly masters in everything; and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to win their favor, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord. Whatever you do, work at it with all you heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. Anyone who does wrong will be repaid for his wrong, and there is no favoritism.”

We easily get bogged down in daily tasks and routines, whether on the job or in our everyday tasks at home, sometimes feeling like a slave to them. While Paul indeed addressed those who were literally slaves to a physical master we often lose sight and feel trapped as slaves to our jobs, children, homes, possessions . . .  Our scriptural truth should liberate us from that mindset.

Everything, every task, every chore, every action should be an honored service to God, Jesus Christ himself. Each dish washed is Christ’s plate, every pile of laundry – for His broken, bruised and naked body. Every diaper changed for a precious infant lying in a feed trough surrounded by animals. Each sip of water for a thirsty child in the middle of the night, a comfort to the dying Savior on the cross. On and on, our daily actions should be a celebration that honors us to serve our Lord Jesus. For Jesus himself reminded us that, “whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.

Look for the face, hands, eyes and feet of Jesus at every turn today. No matter the task let us embrace it as if it were just for Him. Cleaning the toilets? Yes, even this. Dealing with a hostile customer? Yes, as if for him. Even cleaning up after the 3rd student developed a stomach virus in class?! Yes, even this.

Even this.

In God’s Merciful and Abundant Grace,

Mimi

“I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” John 10:10 ESV

 

2 thoughts on “Even This?

  1. Thank you for YOUR encouraging words! Even though I know in my heart that God called me to author this blog (because it certainly isn’t something I wanted to do), I often wonder, “Is this doing any good? Does anyone benefit from it? Am I wasting my time?” But I continue on, writing only when I feel God prompting me to share something. Your comment is a faithful reminder that nothing God calls upon us to do is EVER a waste of time or unnoticed by him. So you see, Cassie, no matter what our life experience or our age we never seem to move beyond that question of “does this matter to anyone’s life?” But thanks be to God, yes, it does. Blessings to you as you parent so beautifully.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for this post! After a long, hard, chaotic Monday at an actual job and then coming home to my most important, full time job of laundry, homework, cooking and baths, I’m frustrated. Does what I run my legs off for really matter to anyone? As I sat down after finally getting all the littles to bed and being completely exhausted , I check my email. I’m excited to see another blog post from “Mimi”. While reading this, tears come to my eyes, I’ve never really thought about the mundane chores of being a wife and mommy as being for Christ. I really needed this insight tonight. It gives me the drive to get up tomorrow (which is traditionally mop the floors day) and do all things for His honor and glory. Thank you so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

