Shielded In His Presence

Listen to my voice in the morning, LORD.
Each morning I bring my requests to you and wait expectantly.

. . . let all who take refuge in you rejoice;
let them sing joyful praises forever.
Spread your protection over them,
that all who love your name may be filled
with joy.
For you bless the godly, O LORD;
you surround them with your shield of love. Psalm 5: 3; 11-12

This morning while sipping on my coffee and enjoying my devotional time,  instead of being greeting by the subtle breaking of dawn I watched as my world emerged encased in a cocoon of fog. Thick, fuzzy, visually tactile, furry fog. While I am loathe to drive in fog,20161028_073945 I find its beauty immense and in some strange way – comforting. Perhaps it’s the magical quality of being so dense and as the sunlight appears it begins to vanish before our eyes.

This fog was far more resilient because long after the sun had risen, it persisted. Not only over the valley with the ponds and along the creek bed but across the hill and in the higher areas filled with sunlight. I paid it little more attention as I prepared to go and help care for two congested babies so their mommy could attend a Young Mothers’ Bible Study.

Not until I walked outside in full sunlight did I actually notice just how much fog remained – and it was beautiful. As the sun back-lite the fog through the trees it was breathtaking. Grabbing my cell phone, I quickly snapped a few pictures just to be able and recall a semblance of its beauty. For me these moments are AWE inspiring. Reminding me of our great Creator, His power, His glory, His presence. I didn’t even stop to check the photos because as beautiful as the fog was, it also meant I would be driving through it for the 15 mile trek to her home. Did I mention I am loathe to drive in fog?

But the beauty of those first moments as the sunlight revealed the presence of the fog stayed with me. I’ve never been fearful of fog. Some say it makes them claustrophobic, others find it creepy, and most just see it as an annoyance. I see holiness. It speaks to me of God’s Shekinah glory, his presence manifested on earth. Rather than a shroud of fog, I see the embrace of His arms, a shield of protection. My mind wandered to the verses from Psalm 5 as David cries out to His God for protection from his enemies and closes with, “For you bless the godly, O LORD: you surround them with the shield of your love.”  Psalm 5:12

That is what I see in the fog, his shield of protection. His physical reminder that He is with me, always – whether I stop to look for Him, even if I try to escape His presence; He is there – my strength, my shield, my protection, my comfort.

Later in the evening I looked at the few pics I had snapped in haste. They were nice. Not great. You could see traces of the remaining fog. Nothing there that was AWE inspiring, but enough to remind me of the AWE some one Himself.  Where will you see God’s presence today? Look for Him, he will be found.

“The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.”  John 10:10 NLT

In His shelter,

Mimi

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

